Secondary Menu

You are here



Accountability and impartiality are both crucial to the success of the FSC. To achieve these objectives, the Financial Services Commission Act establishes a Board of Commissioners. The Board of Commissioners is the governing body of the FSC and is among other things, responsible for:

Establishing policy for the FSC and monitoring and overseeing its implementation Monitoring and overseeing the management of the FSC with the objective of ensuring that the resources of the FSC are utilised economically and efficiently.

The Board of Commissioners is comprised of the Managing Director as an ex officio member and not less than four or more than six other members. Persons eligible for appointment to the Board of Commissioners must be fit and proper and possess relevant knowledge, experience and expertise in financial services matters to aid the FSC in the performance of its functions.

Robin Gaul
Mr. Robin F. Gaul, FCCA, was born in Norwich, England. He was admitted as an Associate of the Chartered Association of Certified Accountants in 1967 and a Fellow in 1976. Before retiring from private practice, he worked as an accountant and financial advisor, and was a partner in the BVI office of KPMG. He has served on various boards and committees in the BVI Public Sector, including the Development Bank of the Virgin Islands and the BVI Electricity Corporation. He was appointed as Deputy Chairman of the Inaugural Board of the Financial Services Commission in 2002 and Chairman of the Board in May, 2006.
Jonathan Fiechter
Deputy Chairman
Mr. Jonathan Fiechter, is a former bank supervisor who among other activities, now serves as a consultant to overseas governments and agencies including the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank. He has extensive expertise in the area of regulation, financial supervision, economic research and risk analysis having previously held the posts of Deputy Director, Monetary and Capital Markets at the IMF and Senior Deputy Comptroller for International and Economic Affairs at the US Office of the Comptroller of the Currency.
Robert Mathavious
Managing Director/CEO
Mr. Robert Mathavious, was appointed the first Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of the Financial Services Commission in 2002. Prior to the establishment of the Commission, he enjoyed an illustrious 25 year tenure in public service with the Government of the Virgin Islands . As the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, he is responsible for the administration and operation of the Financial Services Commission. His responsibilities include: the regulation of the BVI’s financial industry; the development of new service and product offerings aimed at developing, and enhancing the attractiveness of the BVI as a situs for legitimate cross border financial services; and liaising with Government and private sector stakeholders in pursuance of this objective.
Denise Reovan
Ms. Denise Reovan, resident of Virgin Gorda, is an attorney whose legal career spanned the private and public sectors and as sole practitioner in her own law firm in the neighbouring US Virgin Islands. Over the years she served as Counsel to the Chief Labour Negotiator, Chief Legal Counsel to the Legislature of the Virgin Islands and Counsel to the Board of Directors of the Government Employees Retirement System.
Ian Smith
Mr. Ian Smith, has enjoyed a long career in both public and private sectors and was most recently Senior Vice President at Banco Popular. Prior to his career in banking, he served as an Economist with the Government of the Virgin Islands. He currently operates a financial, economic and management consulting company and is the Chief Operating Officer of a family owned group of companies.